File Managers > Files Management Actions > Files Moving Actions

Navigation:  File Managers > Files Management Actions >

Files Moving Actions

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Sprintbit File Manager offers a few file Move methods. All of them are available from the Move button menu.

To perform files Move task please click on one of the commands located at main software window ribbon bar in File group > Move button menu

 

Move

The Move button works in two ways;

1. It has a menu where from you can execute all Move commands.

2. You can click directly on big button's icon to execute the default Move action.

 

 

You can use these commands to Move files when working with File Manager or Multi File Manager except Move To command.

If you work with other File Browsers and you want to Move selected file use Move To command from the same menu
All these commands except Direct Move command invokes the same Move command as is in the Windows operating system.

 

Move

This is the default file Move command and action. It will Move all selected files and folders from one File Browser to another.

 

Direct Move

The direct Move command and action is native Sprintbit File Manager action.
It will Move all selected files and folders from one File Browser to another.

The differences between Direct Move and Move command are:
1. It will not ask you whether you want to overwrite target files if they exists

2. It will Move files directly without doing any comparison like Windows Move method does

In some circumstances this method may be faster then native Windows Move method is.

 

Move Into Parent Folder

This command moves all selected files and folders into a parent folder. It may be useful if you want to do so without browsing folders back and forth

 

Move All Recursively

This command moves only files from one browser into another.
The differences between Move All Recursively and regular Move command are:
1. It will move only files (either selected or from selected folders) to the destination folder

2. No folders are recreated on destination

In some circumstances you may want to use this method to fetch all files from folders and move them at once into one destination folder

 

 

Move As

This file Move command Move a selected file from one File Browser to another.

You will be prompted to enter or modify the target file name.

 

Move As Archive

This file Move command first creating an archive out of selected folders and files in source File Browser, next Move created archive to the destination File Browser

 

Move To

This file Move command move one selected files and folders in source File Browser to destination folder selected in Send Files To window
A Send Files To window will looks like sample picture:
 

You can specify the destination folder in three ways:

1. Select folder in built in Folders Tree View

2. Enter or paste a folder path manually into a Destination text box.
3. Select destination folder form drop down history menu. To open drop down history menu click on a small arrow located on the right side of the Destination text box.

 

 

When you have set you destination folder click the Continue button to Move files, you can cancel the Move by clicking on Cancel button or close the window.

 

Move To New Folder (active browser)

This file Move command moves selected files and folders in source File Browser to the new destination folder created in the same File Browser
You will be prompted to enter or modify the destination folder name.

 

Move To New Folder (inactive browser)

This file Move command moves selected files and folders in source File Browser to the new destination folder created in the destination (inactive) File Browser
You will be prompted to enter or modify the destination folder name.

 

Shortcut's File

This file Move command finds the target file of selected shortcut and move that file to the destination File Browser.

To succeed selected shortcut must be valid. You can whether shortcut is valid or not using Shortcuts Validation feature.

When command succeeds a shortcut file (.lnk) will be deleted