Navigation:  File Managers > Files Management Actions >

Files Deleting Actions

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Sprintbit File Manager offers a few file Delete methods. All of them are available from the Delete button menu.

To perform files Delete task please click on one of the commands located at main software window ribbon bar in File group > Delete button menu

 

Delete

The Delete button works in two ways;

1. It has a menu where from you can execute all Delete commands.

2. You can click directly on big button's icon to execute the default Delete action.

 

 

Delete

This is the default file Delete command and action. It will Delete all selected files and folders in File Browser

This command does not move files to Recycle Bin. Once you delete files or directories, they cannot be recovered by restore them from Recycle Bin. File deleted by this command can be recovered only by using special recovery software.

 

Recycle

This command moves selected files/folders to the Recycle Bin.

To remove them completely from your computer empty the Recycle Bin.

You can also empty the Recycle Bin using File Browser

Use Go Up button until you see computer Desktop contents in the browser.

Double click on Recycle Bin icon, select files which you want to delete and click on  delete button.

 

To restore files from the Recycle Bin to its original location you can either use Window system feature or File Manager. Display contents of Recycle Bin directory in the File Browser then select files that you want to restore.

Press right mouse button and press Restore from menu. All selected files should be restored now.

 

Erase directory

Deletes all files in a specified directory and its sub directories, but will leave the directory structure itself. intact

 

Shred Files

Shredding files command erases a file so that it cannot be un-erased by "undelete" utilities.

It overwrites all disk space in use by the file and overwrites file 2 times and then deletes the file making recovery of the data impossible by ordinary means. The file must not currently be open by any process.

 

This method of file deletion is secure against all but the most sophisticated low-level recovery techniques, and it does not meet all USA DOD or GSA requirements for secure data erasure.