Options > Cryptography

Navigation:  Options >

Cryptography

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

 

Files encryption is used widely to protect your sensitive files from viewing by the others

 

Sprintbit File Manager can encrypt & decrypt files

 

Viewing or playing many encrypted files may be difficult when a file is opened and you must always enter a password to decrypt the file.

Here you can set some of properties that lets you work with encrypted files easier.

 

Save cryptography password to registry

If selected then your password will be saved to computer registry. Saved password will be encrypted too.

When you use this option then whenever encrypted file is open for playback or viewing you will be prompted to enter the password but the password will be read from the registry and entered into a dialog box.

You will have to just confirm to start the playback.

 

Save cryptography password to decrypt folder

If selected then your password will be saved to specified folder. Saved password will be encrypted as well.

The name of file with stored password will be spbpassword.txt

When you use this option then whenever encrypted file is open for playback you will be prompted to enter the password but the password will be read from the file and entered into a dialog box.

You will have to just confirm to start the playback

 

So, even though you save your password you still need to answer the dialog box and confirm it.

To avoid it here you can use an another option:

 

Use password for the session

If selected then your saved password will be used automatically to decrypt files and you will not see any longer the passport dialog window.

 

Overwrite source files during encryption and decryption options


A file cannot be encrypted or decrypted 'in place' that means that a file cannot be opened for reading and writing at the same time,

So if you want to encrypt or decrypt a file and have the source file automatically shredded then check Overwrite source files option.

 

Overwrite source files
If option is not checked then after the file is successfully encrypted or decrypted you can delete or shred source file yourself.

If is checked then source file will be shredded and deleted automatically

 

Overwrite target files
If option is not checked then after the file is decrypted a new file will be created and renamed with _DECRYPTED extension

If is checked then the target if exists will be overwritten

 

Shred temporary files
This option applies only to temporary files created for the multimedia files playback.
After the playback finishes the temporary file may be automatically shredded.

However it may take some time especially with big video files, so by unchecking this option you can play encrypted files faster.
but, do not forget to delete temporary files yourself, whenever you choose to store them

 


 

Buffer Size

Here you can set the memory buffer size used by the software to encrypt or decrypt files

The buffer size is in bytes.

The bigger buffer then software will encrypt or decrypt files faster but will response to you a little slower

The smaller buffer then software will encrypt or decrypt files slower but will response to you a little faster

 
What is the deal, bigger buffer may impact the software responsiveness, for example when you start some process and you want to use some other software features or cancel then process then the software may not response to you as fast as normal.

But if you do not mind then you can set as big buffer as you wish, in that case you will encrypt or decrypt files faster.

 

Open encrypted files

To enable our program to play or view encrypted files you must check this check mark first, otherwise encrypted files will not opened and an error will be shown.

 

Decryption folder

Here you can set where to the software will decrypt files. If you do not set your own folder then the computer's temporary folder will be used.

When opening or playing encrypted multimedia files the file name of decrypted file will be spb_decrypted + original file name's extension.

After the playback stop the file will be shredded from the description folder.

However when opening other file types temporary files will not be deleted automatically

 

About the multimedia files playback and opening other files as well:

Unfortunately we have found that the playback of encrypted files from the memory is extremely hard to implement, so the software must decrypt a file first somewhere to the disk and then play it.
This may introduce some security threats, to have the files played with minimum risk of exposing files and maximum security please follow this instruction:

1.Open this option window
2.Enter you password into a Cryptography Password text boxes, this way you will not have to enter a password.
3.Check the Use password for the session. Useful to skip the password dialog window
4.Do not check Save cryptography password to registry
5.Select the safe folder where files will be decrypted into. The best solution is use an external hard drive, memory stick or other USB device that may hold your files.
After the playback session you can simply remove the external device and there will not be any trace in your computer of decrypted files.
 

After that when you start the playback you will not see any dialog windows and file will be immediately decrypted and playback will start
 

Another tip:

If you use an external device to play files the you can save password to that device as well, just check Save cryptography password to decrypt folder check mark

After that when you want to play files just plug your external device and start the playback, you will not see any dialog windows and file will be immediately decrypted and playback will start.

 

Please note that when you set the Decryption folder in an external device then make sure that, when you plug the device, device must have the same drive letter assigned as is set here.

basically it should not be any problem with that, just check it in your computer.

 

The Decryption folder may be also a Ram Disk, so in that case all temporary files will be decrypted into  a memory and lost when you turn the computer off or dismount the ram disk

 

 

Preferred algorithm

Select your preferred algorithm. This algorithm will be used to encrypt files when you use Encrypt or Decrypt commands located at Main toolbar > Manager tab  > File group > Edit menu
 

 

Preferred key size

Select your preferred key size for selected algorithm. This key size will be used to encrypt files when you use Encrypt or Decrypt commands located at Main toolbar > Manager tab  > File group > Edit menu